Breaking up with Tollhouse

21Jul10

I’m sorry Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies.  It’s not you- it’s me.    For as long as I can remember I’ve made chocolate chip cookies from the recipe on the back of the bag.  Classic, childhood memory invoking, chocolate chip cookies.  Then, I tried these cookies and my firm belief in “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” went out the window.

So, I’m sorry Tollhouse, but I won’t need the recipe on the back of the bag anymore.  I have Julie T’s chocolate chip cookie recipe now.  Julie T. is the mother of one of my sister’s closest friends (did you follow that? Do you want me to draw a diagram?).

This recipe makes a slightly chewy, super chock full of chocolate goodness, cookie.  As one taste tester said, they are so satisfying and good that you could eat just one, but what fun would that be?!

So, I bring you a life changing chocolate chip cookie, courtesy of Julie T.  Try to go back to Tollhouse, I dare you.

Julie T’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

1c. unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla

1 c. dark brown sugar

½ c. sugar

2 eggs

2 ¼ c. flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 c. chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

1-    8oz. Hershey’s Special Dark Candy Bar (or any dark chocolate), chopped

Cream together the butter, vanilla, sugars and eggs.

Mix in the flour, salt and baking soda.

Stir in the chocolates.

Refrigerate the dough for at least an hour.

Bake at 375 for 8-12 minutes (depending on size of cookies) on parchment paper lined cookie sheets.

*Beautiful photos thanks to my baby sister Michelle and her awesome camera! She helped with the mixing and measuring and baking too.  Sister Morgan helped with the cookie dough consumption/batter licking.  It was a family affair!

4 Responses to “Breaking up with Tollhouse”

  1. Looks amazing. You are making me want to bring back in Arlington so that I can score a bite!

  2. 2 Andrea

    The best part is the shot of the KitchenAid

    • 3 Ari

      How could I forget to mention my beautiful new KitchenAid?! So despite my plans to post some non-baked goods in the coming weeks…I think I’m on a baking kick given my new toy 🙂

  3. 4 Liz

    The best part is the fact that one day you will make these for me. Did I just say that out loud?


Leave a Reply

