Chocolate + Peanut Butter = Sweet Goodness (Chocolate Peanut Buddy Bars)

13May10

When I walked into my friend Chrissy’s apartment in Philly two weeks ago to fin her red Kitchen Aid mixer on the counter, cupcakes cooling in the refrigerator, and an adorable apron hanging from the hook on the wall, I knew we would have to trade tips and recipe ideas before I headed back to DC.  She did not let me down! I came home with a real winner of a recipe that I tested out last night.  Chocolate and peanut butter has long been a favorite flavor combination of mine.  So when Chrissy offered to share a family favorite recipe- Chocolate Peanut Buddy Bars- I knew I had a winner on my hands.   The result- a layer of dough that bakes up soft like a peanut butter cookie studded with chocolate chips, covered in a shell of hardened chocolate.

Ingredients

1 c peanut butter (I used natural, chunky peanut butter- you could use creamy, but I like the texture the crunchy PB added to the bars.  If you use PB that has added sugar you may want to reduce the amount of sugar below.)

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 ¼ c sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 c flour

¼ tsp salt

2 c chocolate chips, divided (this time I used milk chocolate chips, semi-sweet would be great too)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Beat the peanut butter and softened butter with a hand mixer until smooth. Add in the sugar, eggs and vanilla.  Beat until creamy.  Blend in the flour and salt.  Stir in 1 c of chocolate chips.  Spread mixture into a 9” x 13” pan (I didn’t spray mine with cooking spray, but it would probably have made it a bit easier to get the bars out, so I will next time).  Bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown.  Remove from oven and sprinkle remaining 1 c of chocolate chips on top. Let chocolate soften for 5 minutes then spread.  Let cool completely.  Serve and enjoy!

One Response to “Chocolate + Peanut Butter = Sweet Goodness (Chocolate Peanut Buddy Bars)”

  1. Contemplou-as; eram poucas, anomalias, porém nunca pareciam caluniosas. https://www.facebook.com/RioPromoTours/


Leave a Reply

