Why “Don’t Forget the Flour”?

24Mar10

One of my first baking memories is my first solo attempt at my mom’s banana bread.  Everyone loves banana bread, and how hard could it be to mess up a quick bread? Or so I thought…I happily mixed everything together, poured it into my pre-prepared loaf pan and popped it into the oven.  When the timer went off, and I cautiously removed the pan from the oven, my heart sank.  Instead of a fluffy golden loaf of banana bread, I had a blackened lump in my carefully greased and floured pan.  What could have possibly gone wrong? I consulted the well worn recipe card, reading and re-reading the instructions and list of ingredients.  Then it hit me and I tried to think of an explanation to spare myself the embarrassment.  The recipe card had remnants of previous baking sessions all over it, maybe the missing ingredient had been hiding behind a spot or spill?  But alas, it was clear, I had just plain forgot to add the flour!

It took me awhile to live that one down, and that massive kitchen fail is probably part of the reason I am so meticulous when it comes to making sure I have all of my ingredients ready when I set out to make anything to this day.  So with that banana bread disappointment fresh in my mind as if it happened yesterday, I enter this space to share my culinary adventures with the world, starting with my very first lesson in the kitchen.

Here’s a copy of the famous banana bread:

3 Responses to “Why “Don’t Forget the Flour”?”

  1. Love it! It’s the perfect name for your blog. Welcome to the DC food blogger family – I know you’ll be entertaining and informative! Looking forward to your posts!

  2. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my
    mission.


  1. 1 It’s ok… « One Bite At A Time

Leave a Reply

